November 3, 2009

Postseason MLS awards

Goalkeeper of the year -- Nov. 4
Nominees: Kasey Keller (Seattle), Donovan Ricketts (L.A.), Zach Thornton (Chivas USA)
Who will win: Thornton. Veteran might have put up his best year in the league.
Who should win: Thornton. This team overachieved and its MVP is the reason why.

Fair Play Finalists -- Nov. 4
Nominees: Keller (Seattle), Pat Onstad (Houston), Steve Ralston (N.E.)
Who will win: Ralston. The brutal injury will get him sympathy votes.
Who should win: Ralston. This guy seems like the nicest dude in the world.

Comeback Player of the Year -- Nov. 10
Nominees: Brian McBride (Chicago), Ben Olsen (D.C.), Thornton (Chivas USA)
Who will win: McBride. The American hero gets the nod.
Who should win: Olsen. How this guy ever comes back from all his injuries is amazing.

Defender of the Year -- Nov. 5
Nominees: Geoff Cameron (Houston), Jhon Kennedy Hurtado (Seattle), Chad Marshall (Columbus)
Who will win: Marshall. Name recognition prevails over the upstarts.
Who should win: Marshall. He's known for a reason. He's dominant.

Referee of the Year Finalists -- Nov. 5
Nominees: Alex Prus, Ricardo Salazar, Kevin Stott
Who will win: Who knows?
Who should win: Who cares?

Rookie of the Year Finalists -- Nov. 12
Nominees: Stefan Frei (Toronto), Omar Gonzalez (L.A.), Chris Pontius (D.C.)
Who will win: Gonzalaz. Everyone touts this guy.
Who should win: Frei. The X-factor that kept TFC in the playoff hunt.

Coach of the Year Finalists -- Nov. 11
Nominees: Bruce Arena (L.A.), Sigi Schmid (Seattle), Robert Warzycha (Columbus)
Who will win: Arena. Everyone loves a worst-to-first story.
Who should win: Schmid. What he's doing with an expansion side is incredible.

Newcomer of the Year Finalists -- Nov. 10
Nominees: Keller (Seattle), Freddie Ljungberg (Seattle), Fredy Montero (Seattle)
Who will win: Ljungberg. The Euro star has been a wonder.
Who should win: Ljungberg. Playing the best of anyone in the league.

Most Valuable Player Finalists -- Nov. 20
Nominees: Jeff Cunningham (Dallas), Landon Donovan (L.A.), Shalrie Joseph (N.E.)
Who will win: Joseph. Do-it-all veteran is loved by everyone.
Who should win: Donovan. The best player in the league. Nuff said.

No comments: